There are 16 Lakes that make up the Snowy Mountains Hydro Electric Scheme. Most provide fantastic fishing opportunities for the trout fisherperson and those who just generally enjoy the great outdoors.

As early as 1880 politicians were talking of ways to divert water from some of Australia's greatest river systems, to stave off the effects of devastating droughts. However, it wasn't until 1944 that the decision makers started to get serious and the seed for the Snowy Scheme was planted.  Work commenced in 1949 and with the Herculean efforts of more than 100,000 people, from 30 countries, one of the world's  finest engineering marvels was completed 25 years later in 1974.

These 16 lakes vary tremendously in their various locations, from lowland dairy areas to the highest alpine lakes, of which freeze over for the winter. They provide exceptional fishing but equally spectacular scenery and opportunity for other leisure activities including water skiing, sailing, swimming, mountain biking, photography etc...



Sign Up For Our Newsletter



Site MapHut BookingLogin / Log Out